France to open BJK Cup in Prague

The ITF has announced the schedule for the Billie Jean King Cup by BNP Paribas Finals 2021 to be held at the O2 Arena in Prague from 1-6 November.

Formerly called the Fed Cup, the finals of the women’s team competition featuring 12 nations was originally scheduled to be held in Budapest in April last year but was twice postponed because of the global pandemic.

France won the 2019 Fed Cup when a team featuring Kristina Mladenovic, Caroline Garcia and Pauline Parmentier defeated Australia in Perth, Western Australia.

The defending champions will open up Centre Court action against Canada at 10:30 CET on Monday 1 November, with 2001 winners Belgium taking on 2017 runners-up Belarus on Court 1.

Hosts and 11-time champions Czech Republic are in action on Monday and Thursday evenings.

Two courts will be used on Monday and Tuesday, while all remaining ties will be played on Centre Court.

The 12 competing nations will each play two group-stage ties to determine the winners of the four three-team groups, who will then progress to the semi-finals.

Germany, Spain, Slovakia, Australia, USA, Russia and Switzerland are the other nations competing.

Each tie will consist of two singles matches (best-of-three tiebreak sets) and a doubles match (two tiebreak sets with no-ad scoring and the third set played as a match tiebreak to 10 points).

The final of the Billie Jean King Cup will take place on Saturday 6 November at 16:00 CET.

In the final, the doubles match will be played to the best of three tiebreak sets with no-ad scoring.

This is the fifth time that the O2 Arena has hosted the final stage of the competition, with Czech Republic victorious at home in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2018.

Team nominations for all 12 nations will be announced on Monday 4 October.

Nations can nominate up to five players, with three nominations able to be changed up until the start of the Finals.

Ticket information for the Finals will be available in due course.

Players of Team Australia hold their trophies after the Fed Cup final against France in Perth in November 2019

© Tony Ashby/AFP via Getty Images



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.