Orange County Breakers take World TeamTennis honours

The Orange County Breakers claimed their third World TeamTennis in franchise history with a 21-13 win over the Springfield Lasers in the 2021 WTT Finals Presented by Guaranteed Rate on Sunday at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

It was the Breakers second win over the Lasers in two days.

Steve Johnson was awarded the 2021 WTT MVP [Most Valued Player] after clinching his second career WTT title, finishing second in the league in men’s singles with a winning percentage at 57.7% and a 60-44 games record this season.

Orange County coach Rick Leach won his second title as a coach of the Breakers and is one of four coaches in league history to win a title as a coach and a player, claiming the title as a player in 1996 with the St Louis Aces.

Johnson and Tatjana Maria helped the Breakers jump out to a 10-4 lead with their victories in their singles matches, with Johnson and doubles partner Austin Krajicek following up with a win in men’s doubles to give Orange County a commanding lead at half-time.

Marcelo Arevalo & Giuliana Olmos, the 2021 US Open mixed doubles finalists, helped the Lasers get some momentum going into the final set with a 5-1 win in mixed doubles.

Home favourite and three-time Major mixed doubles champion Desirae Krawczyk & Maria closed out the final set with a women’s doubles victory that allowed Orange County to clinch its first WTT title since 2017, having previously also won in 2004.

Laser's Marcelo Arevalo & Giuliana Olmos beat Austin Krajicek & Desirae Krawczyk to win Springfield's only set of the WTT Final

© Ryan Loco/WTT

Johnson, the 2013 WTT Male Rookie of the Year, also compiled a 55-50 games record in men’s doubles for a 52.4% winning percentage.

In addition to winning 115 total games in WTT this season, Johnson has won four singles titles and one doubles title on the ATP Tour along with finishing as a two-time US Open doubles semi-finalist.

Steve Johnson is this year's WTT Most Valued Player

© Ryan Loco/WTT

2021 WTT Finals Presented by Guaranteed Rate

Results – Sunday 28 November

Orange County Breakers 21, Springfield Lasers 13

  • Men’s Singles: Steve Johnson (Breakers) def. Denis Kudla (Lasers) 5-2
  • Women’s Singles: Tatjana Maria (Breakers) def. Asia Muhammad (Lasers) 5-2
  • Men’s Doubles: Steve Johnson/Austin Krajicek (Breakers) def. Marcelo Arevalo/Denis Kudla (Lasers) 5-1
  • Mixed Doubles: Marcelo Arevalo/Giuliana Olmos (Lasers) def. Austin Krajicek/Desirae Krawczyk (Breakers) 5-1
  • Women’s Doubles: Desirae Krawczyk/Tatjana Maria (Breakers) def. Asia Muhammad/Giuliana Olmos (Lasers) 5-3

Orange County Breakers bench support

© Ryan Loco/WTT

Year Regular Season Champion

  • 2021 Springfield Lasers
  • 2020 Philadelphia Freedoms
  • 2019 Philadelphia Freedoms
  • 2018 Philadelphia Freedoms
  • 2017 OC Breakers + San Diego Aviators
  • 2016 OC Breakers + San Diego Aviators
  • 2015 Washington Kastles (E) + Austin Aces (W)
  • 2006 NY Sportimes (E) + Sacramento Capitals (W)
  • 2005 NY Sportimes (E) + Sacramento Captials (W)
  • 2004 Hartford FoxForce (E) + Sacramento Captials (W)
  • 2003 Delaware Smash (E) + Sacramento Capitals/Springfield Lasers (W)
  • 2001 Philadelphia Freedoms (E) + Sacramento Capitals/Springfield Lasers (W)
  • 2000 Delaware Smash (E) + Sacramento Capitals (W) 1999 Sacramento Capitals
  • 1998 NY OTBzz
  • 1997 Sacramento Capitals
  • 1996 St. Louis Aces
  • 1995 NJ Stars (E) + Idaho Sneakers (W)
  • 1994 NJ Stars (E) + San Antonio Racquets (C) + Newport Beach Dukes (W)
  • 1991 Atlanta Thunder (E) + San Antonio Racquets (W)
  • 1990 Raleigh Edge (E) + Los Angeles Strings (W)
  • 1989 New Jersey Stars
  • 1988 Charlotte Heat
  • 1987 Charlotte Heat
  • 1986 San Antonio Racquets
  • 1985 Miami Beach Breakers/San Diego Buds
  • 1984 San Diego Buds
  • 1983 Chicago Frye
  • 1982 Dallas Stars
  • 1981 Los Angeles Strings
  • 1978 Boston Lobsters (E) + San Diego Friars (W)
  • 1977 Boston Lobsters (E) + Phoenix Racquets (W)
  • 1976 New York Sets (E) + Phoenix Racquets (W)
  • 1975 Pittsburgh Triangles (E) + SF Golden Gators (W)
  • 1974 Philadelphia Freedoms (A) + Detroit Loves/Pittsburgh Triangles (C) + Minnesota Buckskins (GP) + Denver Racquets (P)

[Key: A= Atlantic Division, C= Central Division, GP= Gulf Plains Division, E= East Division, P= Pacific Division, W= West Division]




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :