Wimbledon | Cibulkova barges her way into last eight
Dominika Cibulkova is on a mission and nothing is going to stop her. Her mission is to show the seeding Committee that they were wrong not to seed her by giving Serena Williams, ranked 181, preferential treatment over her.
And the diminutive Slovak has made her point by barging into the quarter-finals with a 6-4 6-1 demolition of Hsieh Su-wei in what many believed was an unsportsmanlike manner.
I really don't want to talk about it because I would get really upset and angry about that, because it was ridiculous what happened there. Dominika Cibulkova
Cibulkova refused to continue playing the match when one of her returns was called out in the 10th game and then immediately corrected before her Taipei opponent’s forehand landed back in play.
Hseih protested to umpire Juan Zhang on losing the point, setting off a 10-minute delay as both players pleaded their case with the umpire and supervisor.
“It’s my point,” Cibulkova declared, ignoring the fact she had stopped before Hseih’s shot legally landed in.
And she continued her argument for a full ten minutes before finally relenting but it immediately sparked off accusations that she had claimed a point she knew did not belong to her.
Commentator and former great Tracy Austin said: “She has zero case, it’s not her point.”
When later questioned about the dispute, she said: “I really don’t want to talk about it because I would get really upset and angry about that, because it was ridiculous what happened there. It never happened [before] to me in my career. Just a player is complaining. Sometimes I’m also complaining because I think it was a wrong call. But it never happened to me that the umpire changed the decision. It was really ridiculous for me. I think it was really bad decision from the supervisor and from the umpire.”
They did seem to change their minds, a reporter pointed out. “Yes, they changed their mind. The umpire told me she don’t remember what happened after the ball. Is it my fault you don’t remember if she hit the net or if she put it on my side? It doesn’t matter. The call was after when she played the ball. She made a decision. After she was complaining, they were talking in Chinese, whatever language, I don’t know. It was all wrong I think. It really messed with me for two balls, then I tried to just calm down, to play my game.”
The Slovakian will next play 12th seed Jelena Ostapenko after the Latvian overcame a sluggish start to eliminate Belarusian Aliaksandra Sasnovich 7-6 (4) 6-0.
Italian Camila Giorgi swept into the last eight with a 6-3 6-4 success over giant-killing Russian Ekaterina Makarova.