Wimbledon | Davidovich Fokina loses match on a penalty point

Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, in a fit of frustration, struck a ball out of court and immediately attracted a penalty point from the umpire for ball abuse which basically cost him a place in the third round.

Unfortunately for the Spaniard, it was granted with the match crucially poised in a fifth set, ten-point tie-break so his opponent, the Czech Jiri Vesely ‘converted’ the match point without striking the ball thanks to the umpire applying the rules to the letter.

Davidovich Fokina had picked up a code violation earlier in the match for an audible obscenity so as it was his second infringement, it naturally meant losing a point irrespective at what stage the match was in as far as umpire Carlos Ramos was concerned!

“That’s crazy… what a lousy way to end it,” said John McEnroe, the former World No.1 and three-time Wimbledon champion who was commentating for ESPN.

It was certainly a lousy way to end what had been a close contest between the two which had stretched over some four hours with the two players still in contention for a third-round place.

The final score went to Vesely 6-3 5-7 6-7(2) 6-3 7-6(7) and he will face Tommy Paul in the next round after the American had eliminated Frenchman Adrian Mannarino 6-2 6-4 6-1.

Meanwhile the unfortunate Davidovich Fokina was left to reflect on his actions and was clearly upset by the situation for he was spotted still sitting in his chair long after the match had ended, and his opponent had departed.






Previous

Next

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com